Beet Cake (Made with Chocolate)

Standard

I have to come clean– I hate beets. Like, despise them. I think they taste like dirt– the beet tops, the actual beets, the air when you’re cooking them. But we get them in our CSA and we have to find something to do with them. Last year, Desi was eating tons of beets pureed. Now he’s two years old and has probably been influenced by my taste buds, so we can’t just give them to him anymore. So I’m always looking for recipes that claim they can mask the taste of beets. We’ve tried a few this year already– beet brownies, chocolate chip beet cookies, and now this, beet cake. I came across this recipe in our CSA newsletter the week of July 27th- August 1st, although I didn’t make this until recently. We had 6 beets in the fridge, and I figured this would be a great way to get rid of half of them.

My conclusion? It was super delicious. And better than the other beet desserts at masking the taste of the beets. The originator of the recipe claims she prefers it without the chocolate, but I think that’s a must-have to overpower the beets. My husband had another piece a few days later and claims it had gotten beetier as it’s chilled in the fridge. I’ll need to try it myself to see.

Adapted from Stillman’s Farm CSA Newsletter 7/27-8/1 (Sent in by Wendy)

Serves: 16
Prep Time: 50 minutes (including cooking beets)
Cook Time: 45 minutes

2.5 oz milk chocolate candy, chopped
1.5 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 c butter, softened, divided
1 1/2 c brown sugar
3 eggs
2 c pureed cooked beets
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 c all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
Powdered Sugar to garnish

Note: To cook beets, I recommend scrubbing them hard under running water to remove as much dirt as possible. Then place the beets in a saucepan and cover with water. Bring to a boil on the stove and cook until you can easily insert a fork deep into the beet and pull it out. If you have larger beets, I recommend spinning them in the saucepan throughout. And if the water level goes low (it might if you have gigantic beets), just add more hot water on top and keep boiling.

1.) In a microwave melt chocolate and 1/4 cup of the butter. Stir until smooth. Let cool slightly.
2.) Meanwhile in a large bowl, cream the remaining butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs.
3.) In a small bowl, combine the chocolate mixture, beets, and vanilla. Beat into creamed mixture.
4.) Combine flour, baking soda, and salt and stir with fork. Gradually add to creamed mixture.
5.) Pour into a greased and floured glass baking dish (I used 9×13).
6.) Bake at 375 for 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.
7.) Cool in pan about 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely. (Note: I placed a dish towel tightly over the cake and turned the dish over so the cake slide right out. I then wrapped the sides of the cake with the extra length of dish towel and flipped the cake back over so the beautiful crispy top was still the top.)
8.) Cut into 16 slices and serve after dusting with powdered sugar.

20558929176_687b0e0b48_o

Not sure I had semi-sweet chocolate in the house, I opted for some tool-shaped milk chocolates we had lying around.

Not sure I had semi-sweet chocolate in the house, I opted for some tool-shaped milk chocolates we had lying around.

Nutrition:
Weight Watchers Points: 7 per slice

Leave a Reply

